Kentucky Heritage Council - (Banner Imagery) - click to go to homepage.

Kentucky Heritage Council / State Historic Preservation Office
30th Annual Ida Lee Willis Memorial Foundation Preservation Awards to be presented Wednesday

Press Release Date:  Monday, May 19, 2008  
Contact Information:  Diane Comer
(502) 564-7005 Ext. 120

10th Annual Preservation Photo-Essay Competition winners to be recognized also

WHAT: 30th Annual Ida Lee Willis Memorial Foundation Preservation Awards, sponsored by the Ida Lee Willis Memorial Foundation, and presentation of student winners of the 10th Annual Statewide Photo-Essay Competition, sponsored by the Kentucky Heritage Council / State Historic Preservation Office and Preservation Kentucky, Inc.

WHEN:  2 p.m. Wednesday, May 21, Capitol Rotunda, Frankfort


  • First Lady Jane Beshear
  • Stephen Collins, chair, Ida Lee Willis Memorial Foundation
  • Commerce Cabinet Secretary Marcheta Sparrow
  • Representative Derrick Graham (D-57, Franklin)
  • Bill Weyland of City Properties Group, winner of a 2007 Preservation Project Award for restoration of the Henry Clay Hotel, Louisville
  • Donna M. Neary, Kentucky Heritage Council executive director and state historic preservation officer
  • Joanna Hinton, executive director of Preservation Kentucky, Inc.

[NOTE: Embargoed until 2 p.m. Wednesday, May 21]

Ida Lee Willis Memorial Award, presented to the individual who has demonstrated outstanding dedication to the cause of historic preservation in the Commonwealth:

  • David H. Hall, Bardstown, retired city Historic Preservation Director

Preservation Project Awards, recognizing outstanding examples of restoration or rehabilitation of historic buildings, or other types of projects that have had a positive impact on Kentucky’s built environment:

  • Old State National Bank, Frankfort, presented to Dr. John Paul Broderson
  • Let’s Paint the Town!, Princeton, presented to the Princeton Main Street/Renaissance on Main Program and Sam Koltinsky
  • First Baptist Church, Covington, presented to members of the First Baptist Church
  • United States Marine Hospital, Portland, presented to the U.S.Marine Hospital Foundation

Service to Preservation Awards, honoring those who have furthered historic preservation activities or have had a positive impact in their communities, including individuals, organizations, public officials, financial institutions, news media, and/or volunteers:

  • United States Representative Ben Chandler
  • Division of Historic Preservation, Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government
  • Appalshop, Whitesburg, for the preservation of the Boone Motors Building and production of historic preservation skills training documentaries

Ida Lee Willis Memorial Preservation Awards recognize those who have demonstrated an understanding of and an appreciation for the value of preserving and reusing Kentucky’s historic and prehistoric resources, whether through the restoration of an important structure or community resource or through a lifetime commitment to encouraging and promoting historic preservation.  The awards are named for Ida Lee Willis, the first executive director of the Kentucky Heritage Commission (now the Kentucky Heritage Council) and widow of former Governor Simeon Willis.
Restore-Reuse-Recycle is the theme of the 10th Annual Statewide Photo-Essay Competition, through which students were invited to select a historic building, site or structure in their community and reflect on how its preservation and adaptive reuse could benefit the environment and sustainable development, in contrast to the environmental costs represented by the loss of a historic building.  Students were also required to submit a copy of their essay to at least one local decision-maker, such as a mayor or judge-executive, with a goal to stimulate young peoples’ interest in historic preservation and provide an opportunity for them to interact with local leaders regarding its importance to their community.


High School Division (Grades 9-12)
First Place: Candace F. Moberly
Madison Southern High School
Coy Buggy House

Second Place: Curtis Northcutt
Lafayette High School
Julia T. Ewan School

Third Place: Ashton Yinger
Letcher County Central High School
Abandoned Store

Middle School Division (Grades 6-8)
First Place: Tyler Watkins
Logan County Home Educators
Sharon Grove
Sharon Grove School

Second Place: April Winebarger
T. K. Stone Middle School
Hardin County Museum

Third Place: Joseph S. Pence
Anchorage Public School
Bellewood Road Bridge

Elementary School Division (Grades 1-5)
First Place: Mason Miller
Harlan Independent School
Evarts High School

Second Place: Emily S. Carr
Southern Elementary School
Pulaski County Library

Third Place: Allie C. Evans
Calvary Elementary School
Pleasant Valley Christian Church

Outstanding Participation Award: Lafayette High School, Lexington

# # #

An agency of the Kentucky Commerce Cabinet, the Kentucky Heritage Council / State Historic Preservation Office is responsible for the identification, protection and preservation of historic buildings, sites and cultural resources throughout the Commonwealth, in partnership with other state and federal agencies, local communities and interested citizens.  This mission is integral to making communities more livable and has a far-ranging impact on issues as diverse as economic development, jobs creation, affordable housing, tourism, community revitalization, environmental conservation and quality of life.

Preservation Kentucky is a membership-based, non-profit organization dedicated to preserving Kentucky’s historic resources through education and advocacy.  Preservation Kentucky provides an important link between the public and private sector and also helps monitor and promote preservation-friendly legislation at the local, state and federal levels.  By working for the restoration and adaptive reuse of historic properties today, the economic benefits of historic preservation will help to safeguard the unique Kentucky landscape for future generations.


Last Updated 5/19/2008