Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

Martin Luther King Jr. State Commission


The Martin Luther King Jr. State Commission is composed of members appointed by the Governor from diverse backgrounds in Kentucky life, including individuals associated with labor, industry, commerce, government, civil rights, education, youth organizations, sports, fine arts, and entertainment.

The Commission’s mission is to:

  • Promote the annual MLK holiday each January as an occasion to reflect upon the principles of racial equality and nonviolent social change as espoused by Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

  • Encourage appropriate ceremonies and activities relating to the MLK holiday.

  • Promote community service in honor of the principles taught by Dr. King.

  • Provide advice and assistance to local governments and private organizations with respect to observance of the holiday.

  • Promote the holiday for interracial cooperation and youth antiviolence initiatives.

  • Whereas, we honor this mortal man, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., who made the ultimate sacrifice; therefore, it is the Commission’s intention to promote unity, equality and justice for all people in the Commonwealth of Kentucky, the United States and the world.

Commission Members

Michael “Big Mike” Johnson, Chair, Lexington
Kirby Bennett, Maysville
Pamela Sue Dimmerman, Crestview
Waymen Eddings, Louisville
John Quincy Johnson, Louisville
Jim Douglas Karibo, Louisville
Natasha Murray, Lexington
Shannon Lynn Ramsey, Nicholasville
Kevin Russell, Radcliff
Yvette Monique Smith, Frankfort
Melvin L. Turner, Louisville
Wanda E. Washington, Campbellsville
Tiffany Nneka Yeast, Harrodsburg

MLK Jr. State Commission Upcoming Meeting

February 10, 2020

Time and location to be announced, please check back