Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

Program Basics, Benefits and Requirements

CLG Manual screenshot.PNG

Any community in Kentucky can become a CLG. A local unit of government that wishes to become a CLG follows a certification process through which it works with SHPO to outline a plan for achieving its preservation goals. Once certified as a CLG, the community gains access to program benefits. 

Want to know more about the CLG Program? 

Review the Kentucky CLG Manual for a full discussion of the program, benefits, and requirements for participating communities. 

What does becoming a CLG mean?

  • Historic preservation issues are understood and addressed at the local level and integrated into local planning and decision-making processes at the earliest possible opportunity.
  • Local interests and concerns are integrated into the historic site identification, evaluation, nomination, and protection functions of the State Historic Preservation Office.
  • Local historic preservation legislation and historic preservation commissions are established in cities where they do not yet exist and are updated, if necessary, where they already exist.
  • Existing Kentucky Historic Buildings Inventory and Kentucky Archaeological Inventory Information is made available to local communities to use in identifying and defining community and neighborhood development and conservation areas.
  • Information concerning local historic preservation issues is shared with the Kentucky Heritage Council and the public more readily.

Why become a CLG? 

  • Eligibility to compete annually for matching grants for approved projects. According to federal law, at least 10% of the state's annual federal Historic Preservation Fund [HPF] allotment must be allocated to the Certified Local Government fund.
  • Access to expert technical advice from the Kentucky State Historic Preservation Office as well as the National Park Service.
  • CLGs have a formal role in the National Register nomination review process.
  • Participation in the establishment of regional and state historic preservation objectives.
  • Partnerships with the National Alliance of Preservation Commissions, Preserve America, the National Trust for Historic Preservation, and the National Main Street Center.

How do we become a CLG?

The National Historic Preservation Act [NHPA] and the State of Kentucky require a local government seeking certification to meet five broad standards:

  • Enforce appropriate state and local legislation for the designation and protection of historic properties. In Kentucky, a local government must adopt a local historic preservation ordinance that meets KHC guidelines. The preservation ordinance is usually a section of the local zoning ordinance.
  • Establish an adequate and qualified preservation commission [architectural review board], as stipulated in state and local legislation.
  • Establish and maintain a system for the survey and inventory of historic properties.
  • Provide for adequate public participation in the local historic preservation program, including the process of recommending properties for nomination to the National Register of Historic Places.
  • Satisfactorily perform any other responsibilities delegated in the CLG agreement.​