Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

Kentucky African American Heritage Commission

The commission was established to identify and promote awareness of significant African American influences upon the history and culture of the Commonwealth and to support and encourage the preservation of Kentucky African American heritage and historic sites. The commission is administered by the Kentucky Heritage Council/State Historic Preservation Office.

Next Meeting

Regular Meeting
March 10, 2023
1:00 PM (EST)
Via Zoom
 The Kentucky African American Heritage Commission is dedicated to the preservation and protection of all meaningful vestiges of Kentucky’s African American heritage to be achieved through educational outreach, promotion and the management of resources. The KAAHC shall serve as a centralized resource for information pursuant to the mission and duties of the commission.  
WELCOME                                                                                           Betty Dobson, Chair

SILENT PRAYER                

APPROVAL OF MINUTES               Betty Dobson, Cha
  • November 4, 2022


  • Staff Report                                                                             Tressa Brown  
  • Education Committee
  • Budget Committee            Alicestyne Turley
  • Grants Committee            Alicestyne Turley
  • Cemetery
  • Music
  • Current Events

  • Strategic Plan
  • Website
  • By Laws         

  • Underground Railroad


You are invited to a Zoom webinar.
When: Mar 10, 2023 01:00 PM Eastern Time (US and Canada)
Topic: KAAHC 
Please click the link below to join the webinar:
If link doesn't work, please copy and paste link below in a new brower window.​
Passcode: 847199

Past Agendas/Meeting Minutes

January 27, 2023 KAAHC Executive Committee Agenda [pdf, 68kb]

November 4, 2022 KAAHC Commision Minutes [pdf, 183kb]


For more, contact Tressa Brown, Kentucky African American Heritage Coordinator, at 502-892-3607.


Craig A. Potts

Executive Director

Kentucky Heritage Council &

State Historic Preservation Officer



​​​​​​​The mission of the Kentucky African American Heritage Commission (KAAHC) is to identify and promote awareness of significant African American influences on the history and culture of Kentucky and to support and encourage the preservation of Kentucky African American heritage and historic sites. The commission has 19 members appointed by the Governor and includes representatives from the state’s major universities, state agencies, community preservation organizations and interested citizens. The commission is administratively attached to the Kentucky Heritage  Council, with the council providing staff assistance and program oversight.

Some of the commission’s ongoing programs include educational forums and a Rosenwald School survey and inventory project.

KAAHC was formally established February 10, 1994 by Executive Order 94-145a to “promote awareness of significant African-American influences within the historical and cultural experiences of Kentucky” (enabling legislation KRS. 171.800).

African American history in Kentucky has roots in the Commonwealth’s earliest history, as African Americans accompanied and assisted Daniel Boone on his arrival to the new frontier in 1769. Later, as a border state during the Civil War, Kentucky’s unique condition did not lessen the cruelty and pain of slavery. However through hard work, strength and perseverance, African Americans prevailed, and today these experiences have left a lasting legacy of places that Kentuckians take pride in preserving.

The Kentucky Heritage Council and Kentucky African American Heritage Commission are dedicated to preserving buildings and places important to the history of African Americans. Kentucky has an array of sites that tell the story of slavery, the Underground Railroad, Civil War, education and civil rights, and a historically Black college is leading research efforts. Many architecturally significant buildings and museums preserve and promote local African American heritage. KHC has also worked in partnership with organizations across the state to identify remaining Rosenwald Schools in an effort to preserve and rehabilitate them.

Information for educators:

*NEW* "Teaching Black History and Culture: A Guide for Educators," An Initiative of The Thomas D. Clark Foundation

Davis Bottom History Preservation Project website​

View the hour-long documentary "Davis Bottom: Rare History, Valuable Lives" online

View lesson sets: Teaching Through Documentary Art: Lessons for Elementary and Middle School Social Studies Teachers or visit 

Commission Members

Arts Community

Angela Crenshaw, Lebanon, Chair

Institutions of Higher Education

Samuel R. Coleman, Jr., Middlesboro
Tyler D. Fleming, Louisville
Ronald Moore, Frankfort

Preservation Community

Betty Dobson, Paducah

Public at Large

Betty Baker-Clayton, Cadiz
Richard Fowler, Wilder
Natalie Gibson, Lexington
Charisse Gillett, Versailles
Kilen K. Gray, Shelbyville
Walter Malone, Prospect
Karen E. Morehead, Smithfield
Lacy L. Rice, Jr., Radcliff
Wayne B. Tuckson, Louisville, Vice Chair
Alicestyne Turley, Clay City
Diana W. Woods, Lexington
Mary C. Woolridge, Louisville

Ex Officio by Position

Ronald Johnson​, President, Kentucky State University
Mike Berry, Secretary, Kentucky Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet
Craig Potts, Executive Director, Kentucky Heritage Council and State Historic Preservation Officer

Next Regularly Scheduled Meeting

The next regularly scheduled Kentucky African American Heritage Commission meeting will take place TBD via Zoom. The meeting is open to the public and may be accessed at: Link to be provided​