Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

National Historic Landmarks

National Historic Landmarks (NHLs) are nationally significant historic places designated by the U.S. Secretary of the Interior because they possess exceptional value or quality in illustrating or interpreting the heritage of the United States. Today, just over 2,500 historic places bear this national distinction. Working with citizens throughout the nation, the National Historic Landmarks Program draws upon the expertise of National Park Service staff who guide the nomination process for new Landmarks and provide assistance to existing Landmarks.

Across Kentucky, 32 sites have been designated National Historic Landmarks, indicating their national significance to all Americans. These are:

  • Daniel C. Beard Boyhood Home, Covington

  • Belle of Louisville

  • Buffalo Trace/George T. Stagg Distillery, Frankfort

  • Burks' Distillery, Marion County

  • Camp Nelson Civil War Heritage Park, Jessamine County  

  • Churchill Downs, Louisville

  • Ashland, The Henry Clay Estate, Lexington

  • Covington and Cincinnati Suspension Bridge/John A. Roebling Bridge, Covington 

  • Fort Boonesborough, Madison County

  • Green River Shell Middens Archaeological District, Butler, Henderson, McClean, Muhlenberg and Ohio counties

  • Indian Knoll, Ohio County

  • Jacobs Hall, Kentucky School for the Deaf, Danville

  • Keeneland Race Course, Lexington

  • Labrot and Graham Distillery, Versailles

  • Liberty Hall, Frankfort

  • Lincoln Hall, Berea College

  • Locust Grove, Louisville

  • Louisville Water Company Pumping Station

  • Mayor Andrew Broaddus (Lifesaving Station), Jefferson County

  • Dr. Ephraim McDowell House, Danville

  • Middle Creek Battlefield, Prestonsburg

  • Mill Springs Battlefield, Nancy

  • Old Bank of Louisville

  • Old Morrison, Transylvania College

  • Old State House, Frankfort

  • Perryville Battlefield

  • Pine Mountain Settlement School

  • Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill

  • Zachary Taylor House, Louisville

  • U.S. Marine Hospital, Louisville

  • Wendover, Leslie County

  • Whitney M. Young Birthplace and Boyhood Home, Shelby County